Gilmore, Cairns, Lewis — Surfers’ Hall of Fame

Ceremony coincides with annual OC Surfer of the Year contest

HUNTINGTON BEACH, Calif. – The Surfers’ Hall of Fame announces yet another outstanding roster of inductees for its 2010 induction ceremony. Reigning world champion Stephanie Gilmore joins the legendary Ian “Kanga” Cairns and Huntington Beach ’s own Randy Lewis to have their hand and footprints immortalized in cement for the ages on Friday, August 6 at 10:00 a.m. in front of Huntington Surf & Sport (corner of PCH and Main ). More information is available at

The nation’s first imprint collection of legendary surfers, the Surfers’ Hall of Fame celebrated its first induction in 1997 inside of specialty retailer Huntington Surf & Sport where several slabs remain. Four years later with the blessing of the City Council and a stunning bronze statue of sport’s spiritual leader Duke Kahanamoku serving as a backdrop, the ceremony moved outside to the corner of PCH and Main ; less than 100 feet from the famed Huntington Beach Pier, site of the U.S. Open of Surfing.

“The Surfers’ Hall of Fame induction Ceremony is only a few swells away now and we are getting really excited to honor and thank Steph, Ian and Randy for their contributions to the Surfing World,” said Surfers’ Hall of Fame founder Aaron Pai. “Please come and join us to celebrate their contributions and achievements on this special day!”

The 2010 Surfers’ Hall of Fame inductees are:

Randy Lewis: Lifelong Huntington Beach resident Randy Lewis began surfing in 1961 and was considered a childhood phenomenon along the lines of one of his prodigies, Bud Llamas. He started competing in the boys 14 and under division of local events, surfing until he retired in 2006 when he won his last event, the City of Huntington Beach Championships . Consistency was Randy’s hallmark when competing, performing well and usually placing among the top three. He won the West Coast Championships in 1976 and 1977 and the San Onofre Surf Club titles in 1978 and 1979. In the mid-60’s, legendary shaper Gordie Duane took Randy under his wing and taught him his board shaping secrets. Among the big name surfers who rode Lewis boards—Llamas, Michael Ho, John Bruiser and Joey Hawkins. Lewis has since worked at nearly every surf shop in Huntington Beach , and continues to shape at Chuck Dent.

Ian “Kanga” Cairns: Known as a fierce competitor who carved trench-like turns in big surf, Ian “Kanga” Cairns ultimately turned his attention to growing the sport and played an instrumental role in the development of the NSSA, ASP, Op Pro, Bud Surf Tour and the U.S. Open of Surfing. Under his direction, the venerable Op Pro Surfing Championships created a world-class “stadium” venue to showcase the sport of surfing. The Bud Tour received extensive media coverage and jump-started the careers of a new crop of Americans led by Kelly Slater, Taylor Knox, Rob Machado, Shane Beschen and Pat O’Connell. Among myriad achievements ranging from co-founder of the Bronzed Aussies, appearances in two-dozen surf movies and overseeing the Bluetorch media company, perhaps the most indelible mark Cairns made in the world of surfing is the gargantuan U.S. Open. Cairns helped lay the foundation for the U.S. Open to become the world’s largest professional surfing competition and a consumer showcase for the sport.

Stephanie Gilmore: With her father’s encouragement, Stephanie Gilmore’s life as a surfer began on Australia ’s Gold Coast at age 10. By the time she reached age 17 Gilmore was entering world tour events as a wildcard, with a victory at the 2005 Roxy Pro Gold Coast. Soon thereafter Gilmore’s success on the World Qualifying Series qualified her for the 2007 Association of Surfing Professionals Women’s World Tour, winning four events and claiming her maiden World Title. Proving that first year was no fluke, Gilmore was back again in 2008, looking hungrier and stronger than ever. She went on to secure five ASP Women’s World Tour victories en route to her second consecutive Title, then capped the season off with her first Triple Crown of Surfing trophy. Consistency was the key in 2009, when Gilmore claimed a third consecutive ASP Women’s World Title. Gilmore is poised to rewrite the record books and may create yet another Aussie surfing dynasty.

The Surfers’ Hall of fame induction ceremony culminates with the announcement of the OC Surfer of the Year winners. The third annual Orange County Surfer of the Year Awards – presented by the U.S. Open of Surfing – is underway and runs through July 30. The contest is staged by the Orange County Register and allows online readers to pick their favorite local surfers.

The 2010 Surfers’ Hall of Fame induction ceremony pays tribute to those individuals who have made an indelible mark on the sport, industry and culture of surfing. Annually, tens of thousands of visitors to Huntington Beach’s downtown area literally walk in the footsteps of surfing superstars and legends from several eras including Laird Hamilton, Mike Doyle, Jack O’Neill, Robert August, Greg Noll, Jericho Poppler, Kelly Slater, Lisa Andersen, Martin Potter, Al Merrick, Shaun Tomson and Rob Machado who are already immortalized in cement.

The Surfers’ Hall of Fame induction ceremony is open to the public, free-of-charge. Further information is available at

This entry was posted on Friday, August 6th, 2010 and is filed under Events. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

One Response to “Gilmore, Cairns, Lewis — Surfers’ Hall of Fame”

  1. Gilmore Girls Season 3 Episode 5 : Jess helps Rory | Celeb Twitter Guide on August 9th, 2010 at 5:54 am



Calendar of Events

April 2019
« Apr    

Theme Park Tickets, Too!